Shop by Price
Leon Russell - Leon Russell SACD AFZ235
Zoom  Zoom

Leon Russell - Leon Russell SACD AFZ235

£28.33 Exc. VAT |  


Leon Russell - Leon Russell SACD AFZ235

One of the most startlingly original debut albums ever, "Leon Russell" was the culmination of many years' apprenticeship behind-the-scenes of the music business, where he was a well-known and long-respected figure. As one of the most accomplished musicians to emerge from the '60s music scene, Leon Russell proved equally accomplished as a singer, guitarist, keyboard player, composer and producer.

Musically he occupied the swampy middle ground between two very New Orleans-influenced artists, Dr John and Randy Newman, but Russell added to that slightly surreal gumbo a soulfulness and commercial songwriting ability all of his own. This eponymous collection was his third album and contained hits like Delta Lady – which has George Harrison’s distinctive slide all over its boogie – and Roll Away the Stone. There are also strong nods to Russell’s southern heritage in a cover of the classic I Put a Spell On You and the none-more-70s title Pisces Apple Lady.


1 A Song For You
2 Dixie Lullaby
3 I Put A Spell On You
4 Shoot Out On The Plantation
5 Hummingbird
6 Delta Lady
7 Prince Of Peace
8 Give Peace A Chance
9 Hurtsome Body
10 Pisces Apple Lady
11 Roll Away The Stone


Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket