Shop by Price
Trichotomy - Fact Finding Mission CD
Zoom  Zoom

Trichotomy - Fact Finding Mission CD

£8.33 Exc. VAT |  





Trichotomy - Fact Finding Mission Vinyl LP

Australian piano trio, Trichotomy really need no introduction. Over the course of two compelling, albums for Naim Jazz (2010's Variations and 2011's The Gentle War) they have carved out a reputation as one of the most exciting trios in contemporary jazz combining the lyricism of EST and the energy levels of The Bad Plus while nonetheless finding their own unique voice. Trichotomy are pianist Sean Foran, percussionist John Parker and double bassist Patrick Marchisella. Inspired by a diverse range of influences from Aphex Twin to Vijay Iyer, and John Zorn to Tord Gustavsen, Trichotomy's music combines a dense rhythmic focus with a refined melodic clarity. On their brilliant new album Fact Finding Mission the core trio is joined by Tunji Beier on percussion, Linsey Pollak on reeds, and guitarist James Muller allowing the band to draw on influences including elements from the European and Indian Folk traditions.

Fact Finding Mission shines with a bright vitality and an unbridled joy in music making. In many ways it's the band's most expansive recording but also one that really celebrates the unity of a band that have been playing together for 13 years. For Foran it's the result in shifts in the lives of the band's members: "It's a real time of change at the moment. There are children in the lives of two of us (myself and John), and Pat the bass player is back studying - this time pure mathematics. The mood is one of positivity, and a sense of fun, happiness, and a general love of playing music together". The album also captures what feels like a creative peak as 2012 has been completely about writing and recording new music.

Trichotomy have worked with a multitude of different collaborators including DVA - a duo of percussion and reeds, a string quartet, a video artist and a jazz guitarist. These collaborations have inspired the band to write in new ways, be inspired by different artists and try new concepts for the trio and the way they interact with other musicians.


Track Listings

1. Strom

2. The Blank Canvas Pt 1 (feat. James Muller)

3. Lullaby
4. Fact Finding Mission
5. Song For Ev
6. Civil Unrest (feat. James Muller & Tunji Beier)
7. The Brook
8. The Black Canvas Pt 2 (feat. James Muller) 
9. Brick by Brick (feat. Dva) 



Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

Customers who bought this item also bought:

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket