Shop by Price
Yann Tiersen - Skyline Vinyl LP
Zoom  Zoom

Yann Tiersen - Skyline Vinyl LP

£15.82 Exc. VAT |  


Yann Tiersen - Skyline Vinyl LP

Yann Tiersen releases a brand new album, Skyline, on 17 October 2011, coinciding with a UK tour, his first since the sold out UK, European and US dates that accompanied Dust Lane. Yann Tiersen and his band are supported by Lanterns On The Lake on a tour that will include a headline show at London’s Roundhouse and Jeff Mangum’s ATP in December (full details below).

Joining Yann Tiersen, the line up of Robin Allender on guitars (Gravenhurst), Neil Turpin on drums (Quack Quack and Bilge Pump), Lionel Laquerriere on keyboards and vocals (Nestorisbianca), Stephane Bouvier on bass (Purr) and Olavur Jacobson on vocals and synths (Orka) is now a staple of the live shows, and (with the exception of Turpin who took over from from Dave Collingwood of Gravenhurst after the recording) feature on the new album, Skyline.

Skyline is Yann Tiersen’s seventh studio album, and sees Tiersen taking a confident step forward, cementing the sound of its darker sister, the critically acclaimed Dust Lane, which was released almost exactly 12 months previously.

Says Tiersen, “Strangely while Skyline musically comes across as lighter and happier than Dust Lane the subject matter is somewhat darker - there is certainly a sense of moving on and what thoughts are left having dealt with loss”.

Skyline was recorded between Paris, San Francisco & and Ouessant a tiny island off the coast of West Britanny and mixed by Ken Thomas (Sigur Ros, M83, David Bowie, Psychic TV). As always the music stems from Tiersen, whose long periods of recording alone are broken with spells with input from a cast of musicians. An array of vintage synths add billowing, analogue textures, electric guitars and bass bring layers of fuzz and distortion. Songs slip from their moorings, take off on new and unexpected currents. "My plan was also to play with contrast between electric and quite dense parts and more sober and minimal quiet parts including piano and strings," he adds. So, voices join together in chorus, arcing violins and crashing drums build towards mighty fanfares – but then, clouds part, squall recedes to silence, and mournful piano and strings guide you home.

Another Shore 4:54
I'm Gonna Live Anyhow 3:48
Monuments 3:53
The Gutter 4:03
Exit 25 Block 20 3:28
Hesitation Wound 4:12
Forgive Me 5:56
The Trial 5:53
Vanishing Point 4:23

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket