Shop by Price
Tom Waits - Small Change
Zoom  Zoom

Tom Waits - Small Change

180g Vinyl LP

£15.82 Exc. VAT |  


Tom Waits - Small Change 180g Vinyl LP

Rhino / Asylum 8122798069
Unquestionably the definitive recording of Waits' early period, Small Change brings his beatnik/grifter/gruff, poetic piano man persona into sharp, defining focus. Waits' blues/jazz/'40s pop amalgam is at its most cohesive here, as he's backed by three West Coast jazz vets and an occasional (never overweening) string section. "Tom Traubert's Blues," later covered by Rod Stewart, is a milestone and one of the greatest cry-in-your-beer tunes of all time. Waits plays the down-and-out, alcohol-ravaged troubadour to perfection here as well as on "Invitation To The Blues" and the devastating "Bad Liver And A Broken Heart," where one can almost smell the cheap whiskey on his breath.

1. Tom Traubert's Blues (Four Sheets to the Wind in Copenhagen)
2. Step Right Up
3. Jitterbug Boy (Sharing a Curbstone with Chuck E. Weiss, Robert Marchese, Paul Body and The Mug and Artie)
4. I Wish I Was in New Orleans (In the Ninth Ward)
5. The Piano Has Been Drinking (Not Me) (an Evening with Pete King)
6. Invitation to the Blues
7. Pasties and a G-String (At the Two O'Clock Club)
8. Bad Liver and a Broken Heart (In Lowell)
9. The One That Got Away
10. Small Change (Got Rained on with His Own .38)
11. I Can't Wait to Get Off Work (And See My Baby on Montgomery Avenue)

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

Customers who bought this item also bought:

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket