Shop by Price
Harold Mabern - Afro Blue Vinyl LP SSR-1503-1
Zoom  Zoom

Harold Mabern - Afro Blue Vinyl LP SSR-1503-1

£47.81 Exc. VAT |  


Harold Mabern - Afro Blue Vinyl LP SSR-1503-1

Harold Mabern s second release on Smoke Sessions Records, Afro Blue, is a very special recording featuring a truly stellar cast of guest vocalists: Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Jane Monheit, Kurt Elling, and Alexis Cole. The chemistry of these artists with Harold the sound of his piano voicings combined with their voices is extraordinary. Well-known in jazz circles as a consummate accompanist for instrumental soloists, Mabern also has a special gift for sensitive and supportive playing behind singers. It s something he takes pride in and has been doing since he first hit the stage at Birdland half a century ago with Betty Carter. 'I love vocalists. I love to play for singers because that s really how you learn how to play the piano jazz-wise. They go through every aspect of music changing keys, slow tempos to fast, playing rubato, playing verses, all of the Great American Songbook that s really how you learn how to play,' says Mabern. There is a lot of music and there are a lot of memorable performances on Afro Blue but Mabern s soulful, blues-driven style is the constant highlight. He is joined by a stellar supporting cast Jeremy Pelt, Eric Alexander and Steve Turre form a killer horn section while John Webber and Joe Farnsworth complete his reliable rhythm team. Guitarist Peter Bernstein also makes a special appearance on Steely Dan s 'Do It Again.'


A1 The Chief
A2 Afro Blue
A3 The Man From Hyde Park
B1 Fools Rush In
B2 Don't Misunderstand
B3 I'll Take Romance
B4 My One And Only Love
C1 Billie's Bounce
C2 Portrait Of Jennie
C3 You Needed Me
C4 Such Is Life
D1 Do It Again
D2 Mozzin'
D3 Bobby, Benny, Jymie, Lee, Bu

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket