Shop by Price
Patricia Barber - Smash 2x 180g Vinyl LP MFSL2-427
Zoom  Zoom

Patricia Barber - Smash 2x 180g Vinyl LP MFSL2-427

£51.66 Exc. VAT |  


Patricia Barber - Smash 2x 180g Vinyl LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab ‎– MFSL 2-427 

 Accessible and complicated, alluring and challenging, sensuous and liberating, Patricia Barber’s Smash once and for all confirms the pianist/singer exists in an elevated artistic plane reached by none of her generational peers. Four years in the making, and the beloved musician’s first studio record since 2008, her Concord Records debut defies expectations and crystallizes her status as a preeminent songwriter. Informed by personal episodes of significant loss and yearning, the album masterfully unites harmony and melody via uncommon delicacy, tonal intimacy, and ethereal surrealism. It will likely stand as 2013’s finest jazz effort, an instant classic.

Mastered from the original master tapes and pressed at RTI, our 180g 2LP possesses audiophile-quality fidelity and dynamic transparency unmatched by the commercially released CD. Akin to the reissue label’s previous Barber releases, many of which are long out-of-print and command huge sums on the collector’s market, Smash brings the singer and her band into your listening room, converting it into a recreation of the stage at Chicago’s Green Mill, Barber’s home base. Sonic characteristics crucial to Barber’s sophisticated compositions—atmospherics, decay, whisper-soft transients, mood, acoustic dimensions, precise imaging—are rendered with utmost detail, balance, and accuracy. All else that’s required for your trip to the Green Mill is a stereo and glass of chardonnay. 

And consider what Barber herself has said about the record's producer, Jim Anderson: "Jim brings that uniquely clear sound quality as well as all his expertise to the studio. His equipment and the way he records is so pure. He creates a silence as landscape and an intimacy that listeners understand as such. His mikes pick up so many frequencies he doesn't have to add any."



A1   Code Cool 5:20  
A2   The Wind Song 3:39  
A3   Romanesque 2:20  
B1   Smash 4:20  
B2   Redshift 4:25  
B3   Spring Song 4:38  
C1   Devil's Food 5:07  
C2   Scream 5:43  
C3   The Swim 4:23  
D1   Bashful 6:09  
D2   The Storyteller 3:12  
D3   Missing 5:20


Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

Customers who bought this item also bought:

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket