Shop by Price
Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse - Dark Night of The Soul Deluxe Box Set
Zoom  Zoom

Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse - Dark Night of The Soul Deluxe Box Set

£60.83 Exc. VAT |  



Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse - Dark Night of The Soul Deluxe Box Set 

Dark Night Of The Soul is a beautiful, haunting album featuring a remarkable roll call of guests. News of this unparalleled project began to circulate in early 2009 but its music was never made officially available. Now it has been rescued from ‘lost album’ status. 

Danger Mouse is an acclaimed artist and producer thanks to the widescreen musical landscapes he has created for Gorillaz, The Black Keys, Beck and others, as well as his own artist-led adventures with Gnarls Barkley and Broken Bells. Sparklehorse is the pseudonym of Mark Linkous, a stunningly talented yet often overlooked singer and multi-instrumentalist admired for his intimate melancholic country-folk. 

The album opens with a trio of sublime psychedelic rock songs featuring The Flaming Lips on the mournful, melancholic Revenge, ever-inventive Welshman Gruff Rhys waging a Just War and Jason Lytle telling the biographical tale of Jaykub. The pace and intensity increases with Little Girl, Angel’s Harp and Pain which feature The Strokes lynchpin Julian Casablancas, Pixies frontman Black Francis and punk pioneer Iggy Pop respectively. Elsewhere, Linkous reunites with Nina Persson, formerly of the Cardigans, and singer-songwriter Vic Chesnutt. New Yorker Suzanne Vega sings The Man Who Played God and the industrial tinged Insane Lullaby is pregnant with the promise of James Mercer and Danger Mouse’s subsequent Broken Bells project. 

The songs here were dark, dreamlike and explored war, death, pain, twisted dreams and other haunting subjects. Wanting to investigate a possible visual dimension, Danger Mouse approached iconic director David Lynch whose excitement for the project resulted in a series of original photographs and, remarkably, him contributing two songs. Lynch’s imagery provides a spectacular filmic element and has featured in an audio-visual gallery installation, a limited edition art book and will be incorporated into the artwork for this already unique project. Whilst this official release is undoubtedly a cause for celebration, it is also shadowed by sadness following the recent passing of the already much missed Mark Linkous. Dark Night Of The Soul now stands as a de facto tribute to this well-loved and brilliantly gifted artist. The album is also dedicated to the memory of Vic Chesnutt. 

The Box Set is limited to 5k worldwide and includes: 2 x gatefold LP, 2 x CD - complete album and complete instrumentals, 3 x lobby cards, 1 x poster, 1 x photo print, 1 x 12" booklet with David Lynch photography.


Track Listings

1. Revenge (Feat. The Flaming Lips) 
2. Just War (Feat. Gruff Rhys) 
3. Jaykub (Feat. Jason Lytle) 
4. Little Girl (Feat. Julian Casablancas) 
5. Angel's Harp (Feat. Black Francis) 
6. Pain (Feat. Iggy Pop) 
7. Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It) (Feat. David Lynch) 
8. Everytime I'm With You (Feat. Jason Lytle) 
9. Insane Lullaby (Feat. James Mercer) 
10. Daddy's Gone (Feat. Mark Linkous & Nina Persson) 
11. The Man Who Played God (Feat. Suzanne Vega) 
12. Grim Augury (Feat. Vic Chesnutt) 
13. Dark Night Of The Soul (Feat. David Lynch)



Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket