Shop by Price
John Fahey - Days Have Gone By Volume 6 Vinyl LP 4M206LP
Zoom  Zoom

John Fahey - Days Have Gone By Volume 6 Vinyl LP 4M206LP

£24.73 Exc. VAT |  


John Fahey - Days Have Gone By Volume 6 Vinyl LP 4M206LP

Originally released in 1967. Days Have Gone By continues Fahey's interest in soundscapes, sound effects and experimental music mixed in with more traditional guitar playing of his earlier musical style"Sam Graham once referred to John Fahey as the "curmudgeon of the acoustic guitar," while producer Samuel Charters noted that Fahey "was the only artist I ever worked with whose sales went down after he made public appearances." This tumultuous spirit, in turn, made tumultuous music on albums like Days Have Gone By, filled with odd harmonics, discord, and rare beauty. The esoteric titles like "Night Train of Valhalla" stand beside more abrasive ones like "The Revolt of the Dyke Brigade." Fahey's guitar work on the latter song, however, does little to evoke the title. Instead, it reminds one of what might happen if a guitar player from the Far East, familiar with open tunings, interpreted Blind Blake. "Impressions of Susan" combines the same odd tunings with nice, and at times joyful, fingerpicking. Dissonance, though, remains the primary mood that Fahey's guitar resonates. "The Portland Cement Factory at Monolith, California" begins with a lovely cascade of notes, only to fall into odd harmonics that create a pensive foreboding. To call attention to the disharmony and discord, though, is not a criticism. Days Have Gone By, like all of Fahey's early- and mid-'60s work, expands American blues traditions by enriching the palette of the guitar with Eastern tunings. He may create a challenging work like "A Raga Called Pat--Part Two" that is difficult to interpret, but its opulence is undeniable. Fahey has often been grouped with new age music but this -- especially with his early work -- is somewhat of a misnomer. New age strives to build harmony; Fahey revels in conflict. Days Have Gone By is another rewarding reissue of the master's classic '60s work and will be eagerly greeted by guitar aficionados."


A1 The Revolt Of The Dyke Brigade
A2 Impressions Of Susan
A3 Joe Kirby Blues
A4 Night Train To Valhalla
A5 The Portland Cement Factory At Monolith California
A6 A Raga Called Pat - Part One
B1 A Raga Called Pat - Part Two
B2 My Shepherd Will Supply My Needs
B3 My Grandfather's Clock
B4 Days Have Gone By
B5 We Would Be Building


Be the first to Write a Review for this item!

01733 350 878
GBP EURO USD YEN   TOTAL: £0.00    View Basket